School Management

Tonbridge School was founded in 1553 by Sir Andrew Judde, who ordained that the governors of the school, after the death of the founder, were to be the Worshipful Company of Skinners. Today the school is still led by a governing body, consisting of ten nominative governors, who are appointed by, and are members of, the Worshipful Company of Skinners, and up to seven co-optative governors, who are appointed by the governors.

The Senior Team is the group responsible to the governors for the management of the school. The Senior Team is led by the Headmaster and, in addition, comprises the Second Master (Senior Deputy), the Director of Admissions, the Bursar, the Deputy Head Academic, the Deputy Head Pastoral, the Deputy Head Co-curricular and the Director of the Tonbridge Society. While each member of the Senior Team has specific areas of responsibility, they are collectively responsible for whole school policy decisions.

The academic teaching staff within the school number well in excess of 100, all of whom are responsible to the Head of one of the 24 departments. In addition there are twelve housemasters, all of whom are members of the academic teaching staff, and each of whom is responsible for the leadership of a day or boarding house.

Pastoral System

Lower School boys chatting on lawn with dog.

Care for the boys is at the centre of all we do at Tonbridge.


The Governors

Mr R.J. Elliott (Chairman)
Mr T.M. Attenborough
Mr D.P. Devitt
Mr M. Dobbs
Dr H. Gaunt
Mrs S. Huang
Mr A. Mayer
Mrs J. Naismith

Mr G.M. Rochussen
Dr M.S. Spurr DPhil
Dr G.E. Taggart
Mr J. Thompson
Mrs K. Wheadon
Mr G. White
The Earl of Woolton

The Chairman of Governors can be contacted at:

The Skinners’ Company
Skinners’ Hall
8 Dowgate Hill